Befriending Sterling

“Stop thinking in Egyptian pounds!” she shouted, “you’re in London now!”

One would have thought that at that moment when my sister said that, I would’ve  had my eyes uncovered and become aware of the fact that I was no longer standing on Egyptian sand – no chance. The fact that I was wearing a wraparound cardigan and socks indoors as opposed to playing around with the air conditioner remote control was enough of a reality check – I am in London.

It’s been hard to stop thinking of things in Egyptian pounds. Going grocery shopping and seeing £50 and then automatically gasping at the thought that ‘Oh my gosh, I just spent 500 Egyptian pounds on food!’ hasn’t been easy to shake off, especially when it’s accompanied by ‘I only ever spent 300 ginay in Cairo! Rip off!

See my point?

But then… I think of the delight of being able to purchase wild rocket, piquante peppers and Twiglets with great ease. The heart really is being pulled in different directions, but it’s getting better, and the sterling and I are becoming reacquainted, and we’re trying to be friends. Trying.

– LaYinka S. (The Londoner)

About LaYinka Sanni

Editor & Writing Coach -- "... connecting dots, one sentence at a time..."

Posted on October 11, 2011, in Ramblings, Snippet of Moi. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. The inevitable consequence of being torn between two worlds: one that you live in and one that represents reality to you. It’s going to take you time Ola.Just keep reminding yourself that 2 years ago London was the real world, and Sterling was the only currency. Egypt is seas apart, for you and me, it is currently not the world in which we exist, although it might the world which exists in us.

    • Egypt is seas apart, for you and me, it is currently not the world in which we exist, although it might the world which exists in us.

      That, my dear Nehal, is a beautiful conclusion.

Leave a Reply

