Daily Archives: April 29, 2011

Breakfast at Lunchtime

I needed to take a break. We’d been at it for a few hours and I could feel that my head was telling me that I needed to re-fuel, and my voice was close to cracking due to not drinking much water during the session. I had a goal to get the recording over and done with within a set time-frame – I wanted to finish before 3pm – I had a bus to catch to Sharm.

“Do you mind if I eat my lunch?” I asked her.

She only pulled her eyes away from the computer screen for a few seconds. “Er, yeah sure,” she replied.

The tempo of her fingers across the computer’s keyboard had changed its rhythm, and her eyes were not following the lines on the screen as closely as before.

I pulled out the plastic bag that contained the round container that held my lunch, which was in fact the leftovers of last night’s dinner of green lentils, stir-fried vegetables and a little seasoned Egyptian rice. I’m always quite pleased with myself when I make something exceedingly delicious, but we’ll leave the tooting of my horn for another post!

Read the rest of this entry