Wonder-neighbour!

I really was in two-minds about if I should do it; according to the clock in the front room it was 12.30am. 12.30 in the morning. But Daylight Saving Time ended the night before, so it was theoretically 11.30pm. They’d be up, right?

I washed my face (I’d had a little emotional breakdown 10 mins before – I’d had a long day!), wrapped up, grabbed my keys and phone and opened the front door. It was truly dark outside, and only a crack of light could be seen slipping from beneath my adjacent neighbour’s front door. No, not knocking that one. I went up the flight of stairs that led to my neighbours directly above me, took a deep breath and rung the doorbell.

‘Please be awake,’ I prayed sliently. I heard my neighbour’s wife mumble “Meen?” (Who is it?) ‘Thank you God!’ I thought. I called out my name and she opened the door. Sleep was evidently still present on her face, the way she squinted in the light. I smiled and said “Mish noor” (No light), she repeated what I said and understood that it had happened again – my electricity had haphazardly cut out. Again. Like the night before. She welcomed me in, put on the ceiling fan and told me to take a seat while she woke her husband up.

I was in two-minds again: should I just go back to my flat and leave these folks alone? They’re asleep! Well, they were before I called. Uh-oh.

My neighbour clambered out of bed and came to the front room where I was and smiled. “No light?” He asked, I shook my head. He said not to worry, fumbled around in the kitchen and was out of the front door. Within 10 mins my wonder-neighbour had worked his tools to sort out whatever in the world was wrong with the circuit.

After my moan yesterday I feel indebted to giving a positive experience while out here. It’s called community spirit, people. Looking out for one another, showing compassion and fulfilling one another’s rights. Wonder-neighbour didn’t cringe, moan or tell me to come back at a more reasonable time. In your face, London!

I’m thinking a cake-bake is in order. I really want to show my gratitude to them, and I thank God for blessing me with such neighbours. May they be blessed with goodness.

About LaYinka Sanni

Editor & Writing Coach -- "... connecting dots, one sentence at a time..."

Posted on October 1, 2010, in Ruminations about Cairo. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. MashAllah,that is really nice.The cake order sounds perfect thing to do.

Leave a Reply

